Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{May 19, 2010}   The Basics: Leveling

You awaken in Elwynn Forest; you are a level 1 human. You are weak, fat, completely lacking any skills and have little to no gear. You have all the grace and agility of a dairy cow. Worst of all, you have no idea where to begin.

In this case in a video game, there is a quest giver standing directly in front of you and a tutorial telling you what to do.  Not so in real life, my friends. But you have options! Start somewhere- anywhere.  If you have a friend who walks at work, consider them your quest giver and join them. If you have a gym, try out some classes. Or, if you’re lucky enough to know what you like to do- do that! All of these things will give you experience which will eventually lead to you gaining levels. If you’re new to working out, try a few different things- this will help you determine which class fits you best (we’ll address classes later).

Grinding out levels sucks, let’s just admit that. It can be fun but typically only for a minute before it starts sucking again. This is relatively true in fitness as well. Every day that I’m at the gym, every minute that I’m putting into my workouts, I’m building experience to gain my next level. And just like in WoW, the further along I get, the longer it takes to hit my next goal.

When I started, my goals were simple- get to the gym today. Ding! Level 2. Get to the gym 3 times this week. Ding! Level 3. Up my weights from 3 to 5 pounds. Ding! Level 4. But, as I’ve progressed, those things aren’t nearly as impressive and reaching my next level is requiring a lot more work.

My whole perspective on gaming as it relates to my fitness goals started here, with leveling. When I started out, I was looking for a quick fix (like most chubbies are) and would get bummed when I didn’t see immediate results. But then, when I started thinking about each workout as it gave me experience and helped me gain levels, I learned to be more patient. When you start at level 1, 80 seems forever away but you have milestones (each level) along the way to help you know you are getting there. As a chubby, losing 30 pounds seems impossible but every workout, every meal, every pound is like gaining experience and levels- slowly but surely, I’ll get there and these are my milestones.

nerdknight says:

And by this logic i might be up to lvl 5! haha sweet!



[…] to when you awaken in Elwynn Forest. You’re level 1 and your HP is low. Horrifically low. Embarrassingly so. You know this […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
