Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{May 25, 2010}   Gearscore Totally Matters

I’m in Dalaran, on my Destro Warlock, looking for a raid to join. Some guy is shouting for people to join up for his run on the weekly so I send him a whisper that I’d be down to go. After a long-ish pause, he hits me back saying something to the effect of  “UR gear sux, n00b. l2p looser” The first few times this happened, it drove me CRAZY.  The thing, though, is that guy is totally right. His spelling sucks, he didn’t have to be a jerk about it but, gear totally matters. Especially at 80. For a caster, it’s going to determine everything from my spellpower to my haste to my hit; absolutely all of the things that matter at 80.  Once I got better geared and started heading into harder raids, I realized just how true that is. I’ve turned into a nicer, more articulate version of that guy who also happens to know that loser and looser are not the same.

IRL- gear totally matters! When you first start out, at level 1,  you can totally get away with just using whatever you’ve got. If you’re taking one 15 minute walk a day, you can probably make do with whatever crappy high tops from 1992 you happen to have in your closet. But, as you progress, you’re going to have to get better gear. I’m not saying go out and buy the best gear there is- you don’t need heroic gear when you’re level 15.  I’m just saying that hitting the elliptical in flip flops is going to end so badly.

Four months ago, when I started this “stop being chubby” endeavor in earnest, I realized it was absolutely time for new gear. My gym pants had holes in unfortunate places (which, btw, I discovered while awkwardly stretching in a class and noticing both a draft and that EVERYONE could see it thanks to the mirrors on all sides of the classroom. Awesome.), I was lacking any really good tops and I still wear my Darling Hubs’ (from now on known as DH) socks that are two sizes too big. Luckily, I’m a girl! I love shopping! So I hit up our local Fred Meyer (for those who don’t have it, it’s like Target) and got some gym pants. In reality, I wanted the super cute black and pink Nike ones. But here’s the thing, I was the fattest I never wanted to be and was getting started on weight loss- spending $60 on workout pants that I was planning to get smaller than would have been a huge waste of money. So I got the $15 pants. They’re cute but, more importantly, they do their job. I can stretch out in class without fear of showing my holey rump to everyone!

The summary? Get gear appropriate to your level, it’ll make all the difference in the world for your workouts. And for keeping you from embarrassing yourself in front of a room of skinny, sweating strangers.

P.S. I love this comic from Ctrl Alt Delete.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
