Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{June 3, 2010}   Big Bird tries to dance

or: How I am far from light on my feet and graceful

or: The lesson to be learned from Andy

I absolutely loved Andy’s Spiderman story. When he first asked to tell it, we weren’t sure how it would fit in. Then I thought about all of my attempts at joining hip hop classes at my gym…. there couldn’t be anything physical that I’m worse at. Watching me in these classes is like watching a recipe for horrific, awkward but having fun failure. Take one part no skill at all, combine with two parts of not in nearly good enough shape. Add a group of strangers who know what they are doing and ta-dah! You can look at a class that I’m in and know exactly which of these things is not like the others. It’s me!

So today’s lesson? It’s all about knowing your level and skill. What can you do? What would you be a complete moron to try? While I’m definitely in the best shape I’ve been in for a long time, and constantly getting stronger, I would be a complete tool to think that I could do one of those extreme vacation adventure races or try to be on Man Tracker. He’d catch me. Quickly. I’m slow, noisy, easily lost and definitely not nimble. I’d totally be that person that he just laughs at and catches something like 4 minutes into the show. But maybe some day….

As a level 38 caster, you wouldn’t go around trying to solo level 35 elites. It’s a recipe for death! Same thing here except we don’t get to just run back to our bodies and pay for repair IRL. For me, one of the biggest parts of ongoing fitness has been learning to know what my body is saying to me; what it’s limitations are and just how far I can push it before it becomes doom and destruction and I’m broken, unable to hobble to repair and begging DH for ice cream. I feel like a lot of this is testing my limits and boundaries and trying to pay close attention to how my body responds. Every month, when I start a new rotation of work outs, my numbers look ridiculous because of this. It’s always a process of fine tuning where I’m at and moving forward from there.

Right now, I’m going to leave the 35 elite alone. I’ll get him later and laugh hysterically as I one-shot him and he crumples to the ground in a heap of dead elite glory. Until then, it’s all about grinding out exp in the place that’s the best for me to do it; and knowing my limitations as I go along.

Andy says:

I really want to see Man Tracker track Big Bird. That would be awesome to watch.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
