Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{June 29, 2010}   Sesame Street Me

Today, I’m Oscar the Grouch. I’m grumpy and moody and don’t really have a reason for it. I’m no fun guys, I’m sorry. It’s gloomy outside (hot but cloudy… what has summer done with my beloved Day Star?!) which is sort of perfect because it matches my gloomy inside.

You know when you’re leveling your way through an RPG or WoW and you get to that part in the middle where you’ve done so much and still have so so far to go? I hate that part. It’s such a bummer. It feels like you’re never going to get there.

That’s sort of how I’m feeling about my fitness goals today. I feel like I’ve been so good and made great progress in terms of my eating and exercise habits but I also feel super plateau-ed in my progress. Oscar. the. Grouch.

Reality? I’m doing just fine! I’m down by something like 15 pounds since around Christmas and just over 10 pounds since February. Not quite the pound a week I’ve been hoping for but I’m making changes to see that happen. I’m grumpy and tired and moody and hormonal today. That’s the reality of the situation.

It’s crazy how close the tie is between my emotions and my discipline. Because I’m grumpy and feeling discouraged today, it is taking all of my willpower to avoid the fresh chocolate chip cookies in the kitchen at work. My produce and whole grains lunch sounds lame and I want to just go gorge myself on Wendy’s. I know, though, that would only make me feel worse so I’m not going to do it.

Instead, I’m planning for some things to make my day look up. Tonight is the annual big release of the latest Body Jam routine at my gym. Aka the dance class I love to go to, even though I’m Big Bird. The release is happening in the form of a big party in the parking lot of my gym- should be so fun. My friend and I are super excited about it and going together so I can’t weasel out. So I’m taking a short lunch today then heading straight to the gym from work. I’m going to get in my strength training (feeling strong helps me feel better!) then I’m hitting Body Jam for some hilarious good dancing outside times. Combo outside, things that are fun and being with a friend!

From Oscar the Grouch to giggly Big Bird is the plan of the day, we’ll see how it goes!

And for your viewing pleasure, I give you the grossest thing I’ve seen in a while.

Also, if you haven’t yet, go register and join the conversation at the forums! I recently discovered that I still hate jogging- anyone have some cardio suggestions for me? There’s a whole thread about it! :)

Andy says:

the alphabet ball thingys don’t look that bad haha



Kathie says:

Good job keeping the grumpies under wraps when I came by and demanded a breath freshener ;)



Jenn says:

Heh, I do what I can! And, how can I be grumpy when hanging with Sassy Cusser? :P



Leave a Reply

et cetera
