Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{July 8, 2010}   The Basics: HP

Today, Andy and I wanted to pull together some of the bits and pieces we’ve said about HP. We haven’t hit this topic yet and it’s definitely a must!

Back to when you awaken in Elwynn Forest. You’re level 1 and your HP is low. Horrifically low. Embarrassingly so. You know this feeling- going up or down the stairs at work (or in my case, the three flights to my apartment) leaves you completely winded. Your quads are sore from a five minute stroll you took with your spouse after work the day before. You’re an embarrassment both to yourself and to all creatures that have move-able appendages and get about thanks to their own body power. (Did anyone see Wall-E? That part where the people just live in lounge chairs and are too fat to walk was seriously stressful and motivating for me. Noooo I don’t want to be that!)

The solution to this problem? Getting fit! The only way I’m going to be able to do more is to do what I can every day. Just like in gaming, every level I get is going to increase my HP. In so doing, my strength, stamina and agility are all going to go up as well!

There are so many things that are important to HP- one of the biggest is making sure you’ve got the right food in your bags. I think I’ve been ranting a lot lately about food, sorry about that. But, like my trainer says, you can’t out-train a questionable diet. It’s not possible. For me, the exercise part is easy- it’s attainable and gives me something to check off my list every day and is easy to see how I’m progressing. Unfortunately, if I’m working out all crazy and still eating level 5 food, I’m hindering my own progress. And, really, will probably end up broken. Oh how I hate seeing that little armor guy in the corner of my screen.

Next up: add something every day. If you want your HP to increase, you have to level. It’s really simply done- add a walk on your break every day, add 10 push ups before you go to bed at night, add one serving of vegetables a day. You’ll probably want to work on some subtraction too- subtract one round of fast food, one soda a day, one sweet, just something. Little things absolutely add up. And they are going to add up to more HP and a skinnier you!

IRL, HP= Energy, Strength, Stamina, Agility, Ability to walk a block without needing a rest. Let’s grind out the levels for more HP! Onward to 80!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
