Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{August 16, 2010}   Things I Love

It’s been a while since I’ve written about the food I keep in my bags so I thought we were due.

I’ve realized in the last month that I’m perfectly content to eat the same things over and over again. While I really like almost any food, repetition is perfectly fine by me. Especially if it means I don’t have to be trying to create things all the time.

Right now, here’s how my day looks:

Breakfast= Kefir before work. This is my breakfast of choice for a few reasons- it’s quick and easy, it’s got a ton of protein and, most of all, my doc has asked me to be sure I’m drinking/getting probiotics somewhere in my day. So kefir it is.   If I get hungry again, it’s fruit or oatmeal time.

Lunch= I’m totally addicted to cottage cheese right now. Nancy’s happens to be my fave brand for that too (I also love the Nancy’s kefir, as evidenced by the link above). I typically pair that with a piece of toast and some veggies, tomatoes and berries. Yes, I get teased for my lunches and no, I don’t mind. It’s delish.

Dinner= this is where I have variance and really, it’s not that much. The basic rules stay the same; I want whatever I eat to be 2/3 vegetables, I want to make sure I get some protein in and I try to combine that with some sort of whole grain in there for my starch (whole grain pasta, Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas, another piece of toast, etc.).

One of the big things I’ve really been struggling with in terms of food is being sure I get enough protein in. I can pretty easily go the route of vegetarianism. I’m not a huge fan of meat and, more than that, I HATE touching raw meat. Not because I’m worried about cooking it. Touching raw meat is gross and slimy and gross again. Anyway, protein is an issue for me. I was completely flat lined in terms of weight loss for quite a while but, when I changed my diet around to include more protein (hence the obsession with cottage cheese) everything changed and I’m back to dropping a pound a week! Yay protein!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
