Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{September 7, 2010}   Ambitions

I’m trying to figure out what my long term goals in fitness are. I keep feeling like I need to start thinking beyond weight loss and into what I want in the long-run. The thing is, I don’t have any ideas. Can just being fit and working out be a goal enough in itself? I’m such a goal oriented person that I feel like I need to have some thing I’m working toward.

I think this is magnified by the copious amounts of Sims3 I played over the weekend. My Sims are seriously ambitious people. They keep wanting these crazy goals and one of them wanted this: (It’s a long explanation if you don’t play as to how lifetime wishes are selected but, this Sim wanted this as a lifetime wish so many times that I eventually just set it for him)

Seeking personal perfection through rigorous mental and physical training is a noble goal that guarantees a lifetime of challenge. Your Sim may one day stand on the peak of physical Sim achievement, but not without much sweat and mental strain.

In a dream world, I am this awesome. I have some long term fitness goal of playing a sport or becoming really awesome at something or getting certified to train or or or or….

Realistically? I have no idea. I really don’t like sports (not even college football when I live three blocks away from the University that just won). I don’t really see myself getting into martial arts or running marathons or doing triathalons. It’s just not who I am.

For now, I’m focusing on my current ambition: Keep getting in better shape, get down to a healthy weight/size, enjoy being fit. Beyond that, I have no idea but am open to suggestions!

Devin says:

That’s an interesting question. I don’t think I’ve much considered it, myself. Mostly I had just thought, “Well, once I’m thinner and in better shape, I won’t get so exhausted when I LARP, and I’ll feel better about myself because I won’t be lugging this gut and extra chin around.” Really, for me, it’s about looking and feeling better, mostly. I’m not really into sports, either (though I would enjoy getting back into fencing again, and the occasional racquetball game would be fun), and I don’t know that I have too many physical ambitions beyond LARPing and hiking.

Then again, LARPing is kind of a sport, in that it requires a lot of physical activity, often in rugged terrain (at least, the way my group plays).

Still, while I’d definitely kept the reasons I’ve been wanting to lose weight and get fit in mind, I don’t think my train of thought has gone much beyond that point. But I still have a long way to go, too.



Hi Iam Prabhu from chennai,joined today in this forum… :)



Rebekah says:

Jenn! Why did I not add your blog to my RSS feed sooner? So my first thought when you started writing about goals was “well, I know she doesn’t love running … maybe a triathlon?” … but then you were all “I don’t see myself doing a triathlon.” So scratch that. :) I think just generally being fit is a great goal, but personally I usually need more than that to get off the couch (or out of the computer chair …), which is why I run races. Have you thought about another physically demanding goal that isn’t related to sports competition, like a particularly tough hike (I’ve got my sights on Half-Dome in Yosemite) or going to a Surf Camp? (There are some women-only surf camps in super-cool places–one of my friends is going this winter.)



“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”



Leave a Reply

et cetera
