Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{November 3, 2010}   The Cheezit Discipline

Alternate title: I suck at moderation but I’m trying!

When I was in college, I had this roommate (who is still one of my bffs. Hi Amy! Don’t stab me!) who loved her some Cheezits. Now, as a quick point of clarification, there are a million other things that are much more notable about Amy than the Cheezit thing. It’s just the point of this post. I digress.

I used to tease her relentlessly about her love for Cheezits. She’s the most disciplined and self-controlled person I know and would apply this trait to everything- even her Cheezit love. When she got a new box of Cheezits, she would ration them out- one serving at a time- so the enjoyment could last as long as possible.

I have never been this person. I’ve always been the kid who eats all of their Halloween candy in one sitting until they are sick. When Valentine’s day rolls around, I can go through a 1lb bag of candy hearts (which are totally my Cheezits) in a 24 hour period. It’s really gross.

I was recently talking with a friend about the struggle of sugar and I told her about what we now just refer to as “The Cheezit Discipline.” Portion the things you love out into reasonable sizes and make them last over time.

As we quickly approach the holidays a.k.a. the best food time of the year, I’m trying to learn to apply The Cheezit Discipline to my life. Today, I’m trying to apply it to baked oatmeal. I made this gorgeous baked oatmeal on Sunday- it’s full of oats, milk, eggs and, gulp, brown sugar. Really though, in moderation, it’s totally a reasonable thing to eat. What do I want to do? I want to sit down with the casserole dish and eat the entire thing in one sitting. I keep telling myself to eat it like it’s Cheezits. One serving a day.

Moderation. Moderation. Moderation.

Just because she’s great, here’s a picture of Amy and I circa 2007ish:

Leave a Reply

et cetera
