Gamer Girl Gets Thin











{November 17, 2010}   Hibernation

Winter is setting in. I was over at my parent’s this weekend (we live on opposite sides of our state- they’re on the east side and get WAY more snow than we do) where I was met with the unfortunate presence of snow. I really wish I was someone who loved winter and snow sports. I think snowboarding girls are soooo cool. Infinitely cooler based solely on the sport they enjoy. It’s just so brutal and there are so many ways to both be awesome AND get hurt! But, the real rub? I HATE being cold. HATE HATE HATE. Couldn’t begin to express to you how much I hate being cold. And I live in a state with 4 seasons. On purpose. What was I thinking?

Anyway….

I’m realizing that, for me (and really, for most people) winter makes me want to eat and sleep. If I could find a way to do both at the same time and still enjoy both, I would. I keep wishing I could just eat myself fat and then go to sleep until spring and wake up skinny. Hibernating just sounds so awesome!

Isn’t it so cute and peaceful! That’s how I feel when I’m sleeping during the winter!

Winter is a sleepy season and is just starting. I’m trying to find some ways to trick myself all winter long- trick myself into not eating butter by the stick (and mashed potatoes all day long. All I want is mashed potatoes.) and trick myself into moving instead of just sleeping.

At the same time, I think it’s really important to listen to the rhythms of our bodies; to do what they need and trust that if we are treating them well, they will also let us know what they need to stay healthy. That in mind, I think I’m going to try to keep my schedule closer to the sun and get some good rest this winter while I trick myself into healthy food and staying consistent with the gym.

Sleeeppppp……..

Leave a Reply

et cetera
